Using aluminum foil in pc grow box?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by cjblazer, Oct 31, 2012.

1. Hi everybody im going to start my grow this weekend and i was wondering if instead of using mylar or a car sun shade if i could use aluminum foil? It seems like it would do the same thing, but what do i know im completely new to the grow world. I've seen it done in a journal done on here, but i was wondering what you recommend?

2. Not for reflection. Flat white paint is much better, and mylar is the best.

3. Hi there, i'm also new, and i'm also growing in a pc box :hello: i've used emergency blanket (got it from local drug store) it cost like 3bucks for 1.5m2. And it works nice, would of used brillinat white but i've had holes to cover.
    hope ive helped

4. Not sure about the emerg. Blanket but I'm sure it's almost like tin foil and you do not want to use this in your grow. The cracks and crinkles create hot spots and are known to burn your garden. You want white panda plastic, Mylar or just pain white paint for grows.

5. Yeah tin foil is a big no no haha I'm on a low budget and luckily I found some white paint. Works great for me.

6. Been using for 10 days so far, no burns or anything like that, 2 cfls 45w each 1inch from light

7. Thanks for such a quick reply sorry i havent checked my email cause ive been in school all day. Now after school ill be stopping to get some mylar! Thanks:smoking:

8. I need two more things to complete my box.
    -soil
    -lightbulbs
    What soil and bulbs do you reccomend? I making a stop at walmart or home depot after school today

9. i'd say cfls are the only way to go, people say 100w of actual watts per plant is good, and cfls are kinda the only way to go (imo). About soil i don't know, i've just bought some organic soil mix and it works fine.

10. HID is the way to go..