Veg lights T5 vs CFL?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by marycontrary, Jul 24, 2012.

1. Hi guys

I currently have a 1.5 x 1.1 x 0.5m wardrobe with a 400watt ballast which can run either MH or HPS. At the moment I have some 4-5 week old medicine man and afghan seedlings growing under MH.

I plan to take some clones once they get big enough, switch the MH for HPS for flowering and want to have another wardrobe just for the vegetation stage. So 2 wardrobes running simultaneously to keep the cycle going.

I want to keep the power bill and heat as low as possible, so looking at getting either CFL or T5 lights for the vegetation cupboard.

ATM I am looking at either something like this 6400k 2x55w bulb T5 setup on ebay or a growlush 6400k 130w CFL.

Any thoughts or advice? I have been reading round the net for the past few days, there is so much to learn, I've done a few grows outside before and have helped do some indoors but this is my first time doing it on my own, and I haven't grown from clones before.

Thank you =)

2. you want like a complete prescription? how many do you have? femmed or are we still rolling the dice atm?

id plan on finishing 2 plants and start from there, but i dont know your goals... if that sounds reasonable gimme a little more info and we can hammer this down.

3. really I'm just looking for advice on which would be better the T5 or CFLs for vegetation once I have taken some clones. I know HID are better but electricity is expensive and I don't want my bills to get much higher than they are now. Cooling is also a problem, atm not too bad as it is winter but in summer I will be struggling to keep the cupboards cool, one HID in my bedroom I can deal with, but 2 will be a bit much.

I have 13 plants all up and no they are not feminized so rolling the dice I am! By the time I remove the males and keep a couple for mother plants there won't be much left. I think I will start with 6-8 clones for the next batch and go from there