You've got to be kidding me

Discussion in 'Music genres, Bands and Artists' started by PUSCIFERfan, Oct 4, 2007.

1. I'm a freshman in college, and I know my roommate has shitty taste in music, but we had a conversation today that blew my mind. Some background:

His favorite bands are Sum 41 and Blink 182. As far as hip-hop goes, he likes R. Kelly, Justin Timberlake, and Rihanna a lot...mostly R. Kelly. The other day he actually played some Wham. And he owns the stereo.

My musical tastes gravitate towards 90s rock (Tool, Rage, Jane's Addiction, early Incubus, Kyuss, grunge in general), classic rock (Beatles, Zeppelin, Doors, The Who, Rush, Pink Floyd, etc), a little rap (Nas, Biggie, Blackalicious), and a little metal (Children of Bodom, early Metallica, Iron Maiden, Pantera).

Tonight I was playing my ipod on the stereo. I've been trying to get my roomate into more tolerable music, so I played Stairway to Heaven. If that can't change a person's mind, I don't know what can. He gets up and turns it off just after the line, "there's a feeling I get when I look to the west."

Me: Dude, when Stairway starts you let it finish--it's like a law or something.
    Him: Who's Stairway?
    Me: No, the song's called Stairway to Heaven, it's by Led Zeppelin...you've heard of Zeppelin, right?
    Him: Oh, yeah, I guess. Who are they again?
    Me: They're widely considered one of the greatest bands ever, and Stairway to Heaven is their most well known song.
    Him: That song?
    Me: Yes
    Him: I don't see what's so special about it.

Normally when I get pissed, I smoke to calm down, but I'm getting drug tested until next January....so now I have to resort to venting on an internet message board so I don't accidentally kill my roommate.

2. Wow, to not know stairway...

I feel sorry for him.

3. Tell him to listen to it stoned so he knows whats so special about it! :D

4. look on the bright side, at least he's not listening to avril lavigne...yet