Would you let your employees smoke on the job ?

Discussion in 'General' started by XVIPimp, Jul 24, 2009.

1. Simple Question: If you owned your own company, would you let your employee's smoke marijuana on the job site ?

The company is construction-based, so there are many risks of injury, on any given day.

Why or why not ?

2. hell no

that'd just be stupid, so much shit would happen

3. No, because they could get hurt. If they had a desk job, and I knew they could keep their shit together - then maybe.

Not if there are potential risks. That's just stupid.

4. No. When I was a heavy equipment operator I didn't smoke as I could easily kill someone. Same would apply to my employees. :( Non dangerous job? Toke up boys!:D

5. no, even if it weren't a dangerous job I wouldn't let them.

6. No way

If people are using tools, climbing on ladders, etc...there's no way

That would be such a potential liability. How do I know if some dude cuts his finger off with a saw, he doesn't decide to sue me for creating an unsafe workplace or something because I let people smoke weed (and probably smoked with them)

It would be a good way to lose a business in a hurry, in my opinion

7. No I wouldn't. Why do you think employers drug test in the first place, it's not necessarily because they care, it's because insurance companies demand that they test all of their employees in order to be insured.

Go ahead and smoke on the job, but don't let me catch you, and if you get hurt, when you fail a Dt don't look to me for any help, you did it to yourself.

8. No. If only for liability. If they got hurt they could probably sue your ass off. If it was a desk job and they could still work at the same rate and quality then i would look the other way but not expressly tell them they could

9. No way. Too much risk in a job like that.

I'd probably smoke with them after work, though. Just no smoking on the job.

10. Thanks for all the replies everyone.