Wiring Computer Fan(s) to Run on 120V A/C

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by Azureblue, Apr 9, 2009.

1. #1 Azureblue, Apr 9, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2009
    I have received a lot of Private Messages asking how I converted two computer fans to run on 120V A/C power (your standard wall plug-in) used in my first grow.

First off, let me say that I am not an electrician (not even close!), just a do-it-yourself'er who likes to tinker. I am providing one method that has worked for me. Please feel free to correct me if I have made an inaccurate statement and/or suggest a more efficient method.

The main reason why I choose to use computer case fans for my pull through exhaust setup is because they are extremely quiet, and stealth has always been very important in my grows. The dual ball-bearing fans are particularly hushed.

To start, pick up a nice dual ball-bearing computer fan. You can get great fans cheap from tigerdirect.com, though any computer fan will work for the purpose of this writeup. Fans like this one can be had for less then $20:

Ultra Performance 120mm Case Fan - Dual Ball Bearing ULT40135 at TigerDirect.com

[​IMG]

Now, find out how many amps the fan will draw. If it doesn't say on any of the packaging, go down to Radioshack and find one of comparable size (80mm, 120mm, etc.) and see what the amperage is. Then, go down to Radioshack and purchase an a/c to d/c (alternating current to direct current) power adapter. It just looks like a cell phone adapter. It's like $20:

12VDC 1500mA AC Adapter - RadioShack.com

[​IMG]

Make sure you get one that is big enough to support your fan(s). If each fan requires .5A (or 500mA) then get something that will handle it. For example, if two fans draw 1amp (or 1000mA) total then buy a power adapter that can handle 1.5A (or 1500mA) and you'll have more then enough.