Wiring CFLs

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by realitybenderZz, Mar 6, 2006.

1. Hi everybody,
    I've never grown before, and I'm currently buiding a grow box for my first grow. The box will be divided into three chambers, a mother chamber, a father chamber, and a flowering chamber. I'm going to use a 70 watt hps security light from home depot for the flowering chamber, but my question is about the mother and father chambers. I plan to use CFLs for the mother and father chamber. Each chamber is about 1 square foot (wide x deep). the mother chamber is 20.5" tall and the father chamber is about 14" tall. I want to mount the CFLs on the two side walls of the mother and father chambers, but I have no idea how to do this. I'm not very good at this kind of stuff so please let me know some of the simplest ways possible.

Thanks,
    rbZz

2. You can unscrew the sockets and pull the positive n negative wires from the ballast in the socket. Just wires the lights with lamp cord and enjoy.

3. Thanks.
    Any ideas on how I could mount them then?

rbZz

4. What I did was bought some wood and made a frame and just hot glued the lights on the frame. Use high temp glue, as the heat from the lights may not be good for normal glues.

5. Could you post some pics?

6. I wish I could. It'd help alot w. the problems I have. But I dont know a camera, had 2 but both bit it abit back. Maybe I'll just invest and purchase a nice one soon. sorry man

7. wtf is a father chamber. are you planing on breeding them to make seeds? and a 70 watt hps is really only enough for 1 or 2 plants. As for the cfls, go to the hardware store and buy adapters that go into an electrical socket, you can also buy a splitter that splits one bulb into two.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

8. Dr. Dank what watt are your 4 lights? How did you go from 4 lights to 1 plug? Were you able to grow in that from seed/clone to smoke?