Wilting Seedlings

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by Reverend Bud, Jan 31, 2010.

1. #1 Reverend Bud, Jan 31, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2010
    Total noob question here. This is my first time growing from seed so I've never dealt with this before. I'm having trouble with two of them, sometimes they're up, sometimes they're down, but never at the same time! I can't figure out if my 150 watt CFL is too close or too far away. I move the light and one will spring up, but the other will lean over. :devious: The temps are around 76 degrees F.

And check out the freak that looks like it has two branches! :confused:

How high should the light be?

(Edit) I've just read in Jorge Cervantes book that the CFL should be around 12-18 inches above young seedlings. Is that right? That seems way too high to me, but maybe that's my problem. I've just raised the light to 15" above the peat moss/coco soil I'm using.

Attached Files:

2. I would move it as close as you can without burning it to crisp.

3. No i wouldnt do that.

i would say maybe too much water.

4. 8-12" should be fine for the light...
    No nutes yet right?
    they do look prety wet, did you let them dry out before watering>?
    Probably would be a good idea to get a fan gently blowing accross them.

What kind of soil is that... looks prety barky...

5. A good way to judge if the light is too close (for heat/burn reasons) is to put your hand, palm down in between the light and plant. If the skin on top of your hand is ok, so too will the plants be.

Gotta let those COMPLETELY dry out before adding water again. My guess is you overwatered to begin with and then when they began drooping (that's what they do when overwatered, just like when they are underwatered) you watered again

Let em dry.

6. Thanks guys. Yeah, I've been keeping them really wet. I guess that was the wrong thing to do. I'll let them dry.