will I get money back if I do my taxes?

Discussion in 'General' started by Crawfordthedank, Jan 23, 2014.

1. #1 Crawfordthedank, Jan 23, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2014
    I have never done taxes before. I made a couple grand from a job that I had in the summer and they taxed me like a son of a bitch. Will I be able to get that money back with the W2 form or will I have to fill something else out?

2. #2 AR Toasty, Jan 23, 2014
    In all likelihood you'll get money back. Most young people do.

But if you don't do your taxes you'll be hounded with penalties and forced to pay. So there's that. :laughing:

3. You very likely will

4. Why wouldn't you?

5. #5 Crawfordthedank, Jan 23, 2014

Thanks good to know. If I am getting money back I want to fill that out then I can get a fire oil vape pen :smoking:

6. It all depends on if they took out enough taxes or not. The taxes you pay up front are essentially an estimation.

If you payed an excess, you get your excess back. If you didn't pay enough, you owe.

7. You'll probably get a decent portion back. Most people in the lowest income brackets get a decent return from what was taken away. Even better if you are in college or technical school. Unless you're still living with your parents (assuming you're pretty young), and they claim you as a dependent. You can still be claimed as a dependent if you live with them, as long as your income isn't too high. If they do, you probably won't get much, if that. My best friend's dad is the tax man :laughing:

And like Toasty said, if you don't file, and you end up owing the IRS, you'll just end up owing more, and more, and more, and so the process of taxation goes on. Unless you have a way to get out of it or something, which I do not condone ;)