Will anti depressants do the trick?

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by lostkeys32, Mar 22, 2018.

1. So i have been smoking weed for around a year, and i can say around 50% percent of the time it’s enjoyable with music, however, the other 50% is a complete nightmare. I get extremely insecure about how i look, and how ruff im doing in life. I also start judging everything i know and cherish, including my family. I have a history of extreme anxiety and mild depression from a though childhood and pure genetics. I decided to smoke weed before trying any medication, as a more healthy alternative. I have had some incredible experiences with cannabis and i want to enjoy those feelings further. But its like a brick wall of negativity that stops me from enjoying these moments. Will ALL the side affects go away that im experiencing if i take anxiety medication and continue to smoke. Or will it just make it worse. Please help, im in a really bad position.

2. I'd definitely recommend some time with a therapist who can prescribe something if they feel it would help for starters. Like they say, wherever you go, there you are. Getting high isn't a cure-all. There are many times I don't want to smoke/vape because I've just got too much shit in life to deal with and I don't want to dwell on it while stoned.

Another angle might be to just smoke a lot less whenever you do smoke. Primarily though, it'd be best to get your head straight, figure out some good coping tools, gain a new perspective on things so that when you go to those dark places you don't get as swept up. Stuff like Prozac can help keep you out of the spiral while you do that.

3. For my husband, anti-depressants were a total nightmare of side effects. Always be sure to read the side effects in the insert before taking any prescription drug, but especially those that affect the mind!