White fungus on new Vic's Super Soil

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by Oldtime, Nov 18, 2010.

1. Hi folks - I'm new at this. Thanks for all the excellent info and attitude here. I admittedly haven't digested it all; I got caught up reading Rumple's amazing bubble thread and some day may head that way. But for now I'm all about organic soil.

I'm setting up my environment and while working on that, I have a soil question. I mixed up a batch of Vic's Super Soil using this recipe:

1 Bale promix BX (3.8 cu ft)
    8 cups Bone Meal - phosphorus source
    4 cups Blood Meal - nitrogen source
    1 1/3 cups Epsom salts - magnesium source
    3-4 cups dolomite lime -calcium source & pH buffering. *I actually used calcitic lime, since I already had some around.
    4 cups kelp meal.
    9kg (25 lbs) bag pure worm castings

Promix BX, as I understand it, is already innoculated with
    Endomycorrhize. Recipe calls for moistening and letting sit out for two weeks or so. I have done that and the mix is on day ten. It's in a shaded, loosely covered location, though, in a kind of tarp "bin" with window screens on top. I have occasionally been watering with rain water from a rain barrel, pH around 6.8. The pH of a slurry of the soil mix plus rain water has been around 7.8 -- surprising to me but maybe I'm getting a lot of lime in the grab samples. Daytime temps here have been 60s-70s F., nightime in the 40s.

Today I noticed the surface is covered with white fuzzy growth. Mycelium, I believe, though I'm no expert. I would send a picture but don't yet have a scope or camera with macro. What are the odds this is a good fungus versus a problem? Would you experienced growers mess with it at all? I have not been turning or otherwise disturbing the soil mix, since the recipe didn't mention it. Should I try to germ some bagseed to test whether it's a fungal problem, before using the good beans?

thanks, looking forward to learning much here....