which hydroponic nutrients to use?

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by squigglybears, Aug 7, 2008.

1. hey im new to using hydroponics(using bubble jug technique) and am about to start up. kinda confused on what nutrients to use to feed my plants. Heard good reviews on the "Grow, Micro, Bloom" from Advanced nutrients. Any help would be great-- also if anyone has some advice on additives and boosters. thanks alot!

2. Advanced Nutrients hands down. As far as additives, my favorites are Superthrive for veg, then Big Bud (AN), and Cha Ching (Fox Farms) for flowering.

3. #3 knoxis, Aug 7, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 7, 2008
    From what I have read, the easiest and most reliable is General Hydroponic's Flora series with Lucas Formula. It kind of seems to be a standard, some nutes might be better but you will get good results with them. Follow Lucas formula, it seems easy enough, and you'll be on your way... Tons of people use it with AMAZING results, I have yet to get into hydro, but if I did, I would try them first then maybe I would try something else. Seems to me to be tried and true.

4. if you want super ease of things (or are too scared to f*ck things up) try ionic grow/bloom
    really easy to use and they seem fool proof

5. thanks alot, i think im going with the "grow, micro, bloom" from advanced nutrients and use the "big bud" for the flowering stage also. fluffy, white rhino buds here i come lol :D

6. imo, advanced nutes are over priced. I use GH's newer nova series. instead of a 3 part nute, its a 1 part nute. much easier to use.

they have novagrow for veg stage and novabloom for flowering.

6ml of grow or bloom will equal the 8/16ml of the lucas formula.

a qt runs about $18 and goes along way. its PH buffered for 5.8-5.9. the only thing I use in addition to novagrow and bloom is silica. 3ml per gallon once a week.

my grows are healthy and robust.

just trying to save you some cash.