When to put seedlings under 400w HPS light

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by gingerb, Mar 30, 2014.

1. Complete newbie question, my plants are currently 5 days old from seedlings.
    Just today I've replanted them into slightly larger pots from very small cups.

See photo below of plants today:
    View attachment 136694

Am just wondering when I can put them under a 400w HPS light?
    I've currently got them under a very low powered LED lamp.

How close should the HPS light to the plants?

Any help I'd be most greatful.

2. #2 IslandHippie, Mar 30, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 30, 2014
    With a 400W HID you can put them under it right now. I would start the light about 20" away.

3. Yeah a couple feet away should be fine. Whats your temps?

Ok light set to 20", I'll see how they go.
    I've still got to get a thermometer, once light warms up tent should be pretty toasty.
    What sort of temps do I want to aim for? bearing in mind I am uk based.

View attachment 136695

\t 

5. #5 IslandHippie, Mar 30, 2014

Somewhere between 20-25C with the light on is a good temp. 29C is the max temp you would want. At the same time, when the light shuts off, you want to be sure the temp doesn't drop below roughly 15C. I recommend buying a thermometer that also has a humidity reading. They should sell cheap ones at the local hardware store.

Do you have any ventilation and/or fans running inside your tent?

6. I would try and keep them under 29 degrees Celsius as much as possible. Dont let them dry out... 

7. No fans at the moment, getting a clip on one this coming week which should do the job.
    Will have to look into the temps, does't help the tent is located in the coldest room of the house.

Should the fan be angled over the plants or what?

8. Ok have make shift disney cool down fan blowing till I get a proper fan.