when do i feed my plants??

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by mr.niceguy619, May 22, 2006.

1. ok im still new to growing so im in need of help!!! i've always heard that when you 1st plant the seeds (up untill flowering) that you shouldnt have any nutes. in the soil (is that correct???) if not the plant will get nute burn (and turn yellow)???? well i've also heard that if your plants turn yellow that you need to "feed" them??

how do you add nutes to a plant?? do you re-plant it in new soil (with ferts) (i dont think this is the way...because you would risk shock again)

the soil i used....well i thought it was organic but it has the following:

n= 0.14%
    p2o5= 0.09%
    k2o= 0.02%
    fe= 0.25%

is this bad or good?? i've had my plants in this soil since they were 1st transplanted in to large pots (which was just after germination)

the plants are still in the veg. state so when do i give them more nutes/ferts or switch soils?? also im worried because the plant tips are turning a lil yellow. also i see some yellow spots on the leaves (they look like lil dots) and i see what looks to be fruit flys in my grow room....to try and kill the bugs i've been sprayin a mix of anti-bacterial dish soap, garlic, crushed red peppers, and a lil black pepper (it helps a lil bit, but i still see bugs)

so please if you can help me save my babies and learn from my mistakes so i dont do this on my next grow

2. those flys are probably fungus gnats. do a search here on those to see how to treat for them.

Switch soils for your next transplanting. I don't think you need to feed your plants for a while (usually not until the sprout is about 3 weeks old) because your soil already had nutes in it.

Don't water too much.