What's the deal with CO2

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by clos3tgrow3r, Nov 26, 2009.

1. So I am new to this bear with me-- I know CO2 is used in combination with light to produce sugar but having no prior indoor experience I am having a difficult time figuring out how important it is to supply my plants with the gas. Typically is there enough CO2 in the air of a home to provide cannabis its sufficient levels? Right now I have been putting a 2 liter bottle filled with water, sugar, and dry yeast in my grow room during the day (the yeast digest the sugar and CO2 is given off as a byproduct) occasionally but have not noticed a difference in the health of my plants. Also even if there is enough CO2 in the air does adding the gas cause increased growth?

2. here's a little info i pulled up, too early for me to go into much detail + i have to go stick a damn turkey in the oven. doing co2 enrichment correctly requires a pretty substantial investment, maintaining consistent co2 levels that will actually increase growth and yields.

lol :smoke: chetto

Elevating carbon dioxide levels can increase growth speed a great deal, perhaps even double it. It seems that the plant evolved in primordial times when natural CO2 levels were many times what they are today. The plant uses CO2 for photosynthesis to create sugars it uses to build plant tissues. Elevating the CO2 level will increase the plants ability to manufacture these sugars and plant growth rate is enhanced considerably.