What must a theory of everything entail?

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by mrgoodsmoke, Oct 10, 2010.

1. I'm sure that you guys are aware of a large ongoing coordinated efforts amongst academics across the land to come up w/ a theory of everything, or a grand unification theory of what have you.

My questions are: What do you think something like that has to be like?

And do you think it is possible to come up with one that escapes all philosophical problems?

2. lol...first off, immovable, infallible postulates....:smoke:

3. Which I think have strong implications for my second question.

4. well..a "theory of everything" already exists...and i cant see how youre gonna come up one, single theory that "escapes all philosophical problems"...

can you elaborate on that?...."escapes all philosophical problems"

5. Like the problem of induction? I dunno man. I don't think I have a master plan or anything. I just think it might be interesting to hear what other people have to say on the matter and see what kinda problems we run into trying to have a hairbrained pothead conversation about it.

6. The only "Unified Theory" ideas I'm hearing about is a physics concept to conceptualize the three acting forces on particles into one constant. Or, to a large scale, M-Theory (string) to predict all physical interactions.

...so seeing this in S&P seems a bit strange, since it's not meant to address anything in a philosophical sense.

7. hehehh...:smoke:

8. does the following statement seem close in meaning to each other?

god is all-inclusive...as is the theory of everything.

9. Well I read a bunch of books buy these guys who were all into modal logic, and they deal more in philosophical jargon than that of physics, so I just put it here. Then I read some stuff on the history of science, and thought it all fit together nicely in my mind, so I just wanted to get people's opinions on the matter sir.

10. #10 Postal Blowfish, Oct 10, 2010