what kinda of lights do i need???

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by noobgrower1, Feb 16, 2009.

1. hey every ok so im new to growing and i have a few questions i have read grandpas grow guide but im still alil confusied... so first ill start with lights.. i dont know what style lights am i to use.. i am going to be useing a 2x3x4 box n not sure how many plants yet...so if i can know what style lights ima be needing..thanks

2. it sonds like you would want to use cfl's in there although i dont think the box is tall enough to grow a mature plant in

3. Cool, welcome to growing. You say your grow box will be 2x3x4.. what? Inches? Feet?
    Meters? I'll presume feet for now.. That's gonna be a tight squeeze in there for
    anything more than two plants, even one really. I hope you're planning on growing
    a lowyder strain in there.

CFL is probably your best bet, especially if you're on a budget. That will eliminate
    about 6" of grow space from the top and maybe the sides, depending on how many
    you want to put in there.

You can't make that box any bigger eh? There is a certain point where all the time
    and effort and whatnot just won't be worth it due to the small yield you'll be getting
    every three months.

Best of luck!

:bongin: ~Experimentalist

4. #4 noobgrower1, Feb 16, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 16, 2009
    the cfl's how many watts each n how many???? and how many kalvins...would it b better to get 6500s? how tall should i build the box??? i am planing to grow forbidden fruit... will it still b to tall?? what size pots should i put them in??? n yes i do mean 2x3x4 feet..

5. #5 experimentalist, Feb 16, 2009
    Cool man.. thats a nice strain from what I've heard. Doesn't get too big either.

Well if you're gonna grow a single plant, I'd get five 23W 6500K CFL bulbs and place
    them strategically around the inside of the grow box. I'd also consider using LST to