What are trichs? Where am I looking?

Discussion in 'Harvesting and Processing Marijuana' started by Evergreen509, Feb 12, 2009.

1. im a newb here and ive been looking for hours trying to find more info on trichs. my last crop was done by when the hairs turned red. turned out good but i want the optimum stone!! ive seen the magnified chart but im still not sure how to get to that point.
    FYI:
    im using 2 400watt HPS. its Orange Crush my buddy grew from seed and had too many. i kicked over to 12/12 jan 8th and seen flowering about a week later. so that puts them about 4weeks since 1st flower... i over grew them in the veg state from my learnings on this site, they were about 2feet tall w/3 main branches.

1- wheres the best place to take a sample? of what? one of the bud leaves or fan leaves? the tips or tword the middle? checking the front of back of the leaf?

2- is it good to start checking now? if so i need a scope.

3- i keep the lights about 8inches from the top of the colas. too close? my hand can stay there for about 30 seconds without burning.

4- how long before harvest to i flush? how do you tell when if u want to cut as soon as u see red trichs? does flushing just consist of running clean water through till it comes out of the bottom clear?

sorry lots of questions but im learning ALOT here and want to green up my thumbs some. i can say this forum rocks and i will be a regular here!

Attached Files:

2. #2 Mr.Tangent, Feb 12, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2009