Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Weed: Hallucinogen or not?

Discussion in 'Apprentice Marijuana Consumption' started by Skyscraper, Mar 5, 2012.

1. I believe that marijuana is NOT a hallucinogen for many reasons.

To hallucinate means that you perceive something that's not there.

I've never experienced this, and i've been smoking for nearly 3 years now. Nor have any of my friends.

It distorts your senses, but that's not a hallucination. Alcohol distorts your senses, but that's not a hallucinogen. So I don't classify this as a hallucinogen.

And people say "it's a mild hallucinogen", well how can it be mild? You either hallucinate, or not - you either see/hear shit that's not there, or you don't.

Care to settle this dispute once and for all, GC? :D

2. anyone who knows anything about weed knows its not a hallucinogen

3. I have never hallucinated. I thought I did a couple times when I was really baked but upon further inspection I was just being dumb. i.e. Thinking that I was hearing engine noises on repeat but there was a car idling outside.

4. i thought someone was standing right beside me .. but it was just my hair... scared the fuck outta me D:

5. It is a mild hallucinogen, but as I'm sure you all know weed doesn't make you trip. It's just a way to classify it.

6. Auditory hallucinations are known to happen. As for actual hallucinations you aren't going to see pink elephants everywhere or anything even close to an actual "trip", but mild peripheral hallucinations have happened to me before.