Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Weed and Risk taking?

Discussion in 'Seasoned Marijuana Users' started by wearyone, Jun 2, 2008.

1. I have been smoking weed HEAVILY for the past 3 years, (I'm 20 now) and recently I've started thinking about its effects on my decisions, or on events in the past that I had never thought about or even cared to bring up before.

I found online a study that looked rather legitimate, about the effects of cannabis on people's judgment, and the fact that it increased risk taking behavior (similar to alcohol.)

Now I've always thought this concept to be complete horseshit: I mean, I have always rejected that cannabis had any type of "hold" on me, and caused me to do things. I've never been in a car accident, hit anything or even been pulled over, and I'm high at least once every day when I drive. I have never hurt anyone physically, and typically am MORE conscious of my actions while I'm high. How could a study possible prove that when you get high, you are more prone to get involved in risky activities, or practice risky actions?

However, if the study is true, does that mean that for the past 3 years I have been making terrible, risk-ridden decisions and have been completely unaware of it?

2. "risky activities" is pretty vague

3. lol .... i definitely dont feel the affects of that .... the last thing i wanna do while im high ... is take a risk

4. the general stereotypical stoner is a reckless, thrill seeking, middle age individual- where risky business thrives regardless