watering frequency

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by GeraldsFinest, Jul 19, 2019.

1. Hi guys,

So I’ve been researching this topic like crazy but still don’t feel comfortable with it.
    My plants are about a 1 foot tall and in 1.5 gallon plastic pots. I’ve read people saying to water at least once twice, three times a day. I’ve heard people say every other or every third. I watered my plants yesterday and today the very bottom of the pots are very damp and some are moist. I was watering everyday in the solo cups and when I went to transplant I noticed the roots had brown areas and some fungus. I can see people watering everyday if the plant is big enough but at a foot tall in 1.5gal pots should they need water everyday? Is there a method I can use to determine when to water. I used roughly 70/30 coco perlite The coco is still dark brown and pot still feels heavy. I know this subject has been beaten like a dead horse but still I don’t know how to tell. I’m new to coco growing and just need some advice

2. Water till you see about 10% run off than lift the pot and get an idea of how heavy it is. Everyday check to see how much lighter the pot gets. Once the top 1/2 inch of coco is dry and the pot is much lighter it’s time to water. Once you get an idea of what the pot weighs when it is dry you can use that as a method of when to water.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Ok thanks. So In your opinion If the soil that’s at the very bottom of the pot looks like you could squeeze it and have water come out, but the rest of the pot is still dark brown but just a little moist would you water or wait?

4. I would wait until top layer of soil is dry to the touch than water. Are you growing in pots or airpots?

5. The plants leaves will also give you signs when they want to be watered. They will look slightly wilted. They give signs when they need water.

• Agree Agree x 1