Want to start composing music, but how?

Discussion in 'Music genres, Bands and Artists' started by BUDDAMUNK, Oct 19, 2011.

1. So I play guitar, been playing fairly long, just recently got back into it. I consider myself an intermediate/advanced player, so I know some shit. However, I've never really started writing my own stuff, which is something I want to do.

My problem is music theory, I never really took the time to learn it, just tabs this and tabs that. The only theory I did learn, has been long forgotten. So where should I start?

2. herpbumpderpbumpderpaderp

3. I'm good with chords, used to be good with notes. Only guitar class I took was like 2-3 years ago, so I forgot pretty much all of the notes. I pretty much self taught by learning to play random songs via tabs. Thanks for the tip though, I'll get on it.

4. #5 Jointsmoker415, Oct 19, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 19, 2011
    ur not intermediate or advanced until u learn theory...

how u gunna play a song if u cant understand it? how are u gunna communicate with other musicians?

Tabs are fuckin garbage because there cheap short cuts..all u learn how is where to put ur fingers like freakin guitar hero or something...

like im sure u could get away with making simple songs or something but if u want something that fuckin cooks then learn theory, its not hard

just go out and buy a jazz guitar book or something.. u dnt have to do jazz but its gunna teach u everything u wanna kno

5. I was talking more on a level of me being able to play intermediate level songs, and less on a technical level. Thanks for the tip though, guess I'll just go shopping for books.

6. I'd say change your guitar tuning, picked up my acoustic for the first time in years about six months ago. Tuned it to DADF#AD to learn "Little Martha" by the Allman bros.