Want to delve into Hydro

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by dman~da420man, Jun 6, 2010.

1. Some advice would be appreciated here. I'm new to the working water thing. here is what I propose. I have a Meter2 closet and would like to scrog it. for the time I have a 400w Hps light in it. I would like to use 6 plants to scrog.
    Seeing as i want to go hydro I think I would be better off with a reservoir system, seeing the plants will be difficult to move to change the water out of the reservoir. If i use an ebb and flow system, i was thinking to keep the main reservoir out of the tent, and making it easier to change and keep out of the light.
    The system I was looking into has (6) 3 Gallon Buckets (6) 6" Mesh Pots (6) Grommets (6) Fittings (6) Dripper Stakes, Tubing, & Hydroton and they suggest buying an 18 gallon res. I want to use Roots Organics for Nutes. Am I thinking correctly?

2. 3 feet by 3 feet w/ 6 plants?

3. IMO

I would go with the simplest and most effective which is DWC 5 gallon buckets setup like bubble buckets and waterfarm if you want it.

The whole reservoir thing takes some practice, if you have them in 5 gallon bucks they stand alone, that way you save on the pumps and stuff too.

It takes a little longer to change water, but I can do 4 in an hour fairly comfortably.

That said, I have a thread here somewhere where I express my own interest in ebb and flow. So I would not discourage you against that as imo per research it might be the easiest and most effective.

Good luck. You will never go back to soil.

4. It sounds a little too ambitious to me. Six plants in nine square feet would hardly give enough room for light let alone air circulation. I would think that this would be very hard to manage. Let us know how you make out.

5. I grow 4 in 20"x36", rather easily. :wave:

But if you're going to do 6, put a 600w in there.