Very little new growth and then it dies

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by DontWantToBuy, Jun 9, 2009.

1. I'm new to the forum - thanks in advance.

I've been growing my plants for about 3 years and this is the first time I've had this issue. I took 10 clones from Mama (like normal), placed them in rockwool under flourescents until they rooted.

Then I planted 6 in about 3 gallon containers (same ones I've been using with 5 holes drilled at the bottom for drainage). I use a 250W HPS with a constant oscillating fan.

I use a mix of perlite, potting soil and mushroom compost. The temp was sitting at about 81 degrees so I cranked the air conditioning up and it's around 78 degrees now.

All 6 slowly started dying so I added CalMg and some BioGrow (as always). The plants have looked the same as the pics for about 3-4 weeks now. They don't seem to bite in and start growing. Any new growth that does come in dies in a few days and it's been in that cycle for about 3 weeks.

I'm wondering if it has to do with the containers and chemical build-up?? I have 2 'spares' that are still under flourescents, but they are not the greatest, either. These plants have grown like clockwork until now and I'm afraid of losing my entire crop!!

I've attached pics of 2 of the clones (at about 3-4 weeks after being in the dirt) and one of the setup so you can see how far away the light is.

Any tips/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

Attached Files:

2. containers arent your problem, its not like you're limiting the space for roots to grow, but as for the chems, i dont start adding them until their out of the seedling stage, but u didnt start adding them until after they looked kinda dead, so idk whats the problem, srry

3. I've never had to flush the plants before, but I saw in another post that someone puts the containers in the tub and pours about 9 gallons in them. Does that hurt to try?