Very First Grow- Need Help!

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by ThatOneBro, Jan 16, 2013.

1. So this will be my very first grow. I'm not really trying to get an amazing, multi-budded plant just yet. To start- If i can get 1 smokable bud, I will be content. I have two seeds that are viable for planting (i've made sure, brown with black stripes/markings) and a fairly small area to plant them in.
    (This is what it looks like)
    imgur: the simple image sharer

It's in my basement, where literally nobody has been in close to two years, and it's in a closet which nobody touches. The space is about 1.5 ft deep, 2.5 ft tall, and 1.5-2 ft wide.

Also, there's a hole at the back so i could make sure the cords are stealthily tucked away at the back of the cabinet.

(a closer look)

I'm really new to growing- but I was thinking of using the SOG method, without the whole 'sea' aspect. I really want to focus on maintaining a small, discreet plant, and forcing it to flower early. I don't know if I would need ventilation (I can easily get access to PC fans, so that shouldn't be a problem, but what about a filter?), and lighting would be fairly simple as i have lamps that i can throw a CFL bulb in (getting one is a different story). My dad used to grow just regular herbs indoors as well, so he has a 24 hour timer which I could use once the plant was in the vegetative state and put it into 12/12. I think I would plant it in a small-ish pot that would hopefully be suitable for its whole life but still able to fit in there. Would that work? What type of soil/nutrients would I need to give it? Does it even NEED nutrients? (I know that may be a stupid question). How often would I have to water it? And mainly, What do I have to do in order to keep it small? I know I could clip off the lower stems and force it to put all the nutrients into the top bud but I don't know how well that would be for a first grow. Keep in mind I want this to be discreet and as low budg