Using urine as fertilizer?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by Nisai, Apr 20, 2015.

1. Hi guys, 

I'm pretty new to outdoor grows and have been researching putting together a good soil mix. My issue is that I live on a small island in the Mediterranean and it's pretty hard to come by most organic additives. I was wondering if soil amended with egg shells, ground (used) coffee beans, some organic matter and urine (yes URINE) would do the trick?

I've done some research on this and there are now slowly starting to be more studies into what would otherwise be just a waste product, and it seems like most healthy pee contains very high amounts of N, as well as medium amounts of P and K. I'm uncertain as to whether it would be a "perfect" mix, especially during flowering, but it would be very interesting to get your take on this. I would like to stay organic as much as possible.

Has anyone tried using urine as fert before? Getting past the "yuck factor" isn't much of an issue to me, but I know it grosses some people out.

Thanks and happy 4/20!

2. http://arc.peacecorpsconnect.org/view/482

Excerpt:
    " Urine as a fertilizer- Urine is a locally produced resource that is free.  As a fertilizer it is effective, is a high quality fertilizer, urine is sterile and requires no processing other than dilution, is readily available, can be used immediately or stored, rapid acting, and is easily applied. Urine provides a constant supply of fertilizer, instead of the annual or semi-annual composting systems that require physical labor to aerate and require management.