Grasscity - Cyber Week Sale - up to 50% Discount

upgrading MAC RAM

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by NativeSoundz, Jan 12, 2013.

1. someone here knows the answer to this im sure.

im currently running 4GB 1067 DDR3 (2 cards @ 2 GB each) id like to step up to 8 GB.

Just wondering if i need to purchase this from Apple or are there other brands that are just as compatible/or perhaps better than what Apple sells.

pleassssseeeee keep your F*** Apple bullshit off of here, im a mixing engineer who needs iOS for several editing programs.

Thanks for your help guys

2. i bought mine from a third party

3. from where???

4. crucial dot com

5. k heres another question.

im assuming (and correct me if im wrong) that since i already have 2 DDR3 modules i would need to purchase 2 other DDR3 modules right? my computer has 4 slots

does the speed have to much as well? the 2 that came stock are at 1067 MHz, but most of the ones i find online are at 1600 MHz

6. however many empty slots u have u can put as much memory as u want. most people put 2 or 4. i dont know aboutthe Mhz but i think it does not matter. but dont take my word for it. wait for others or try macworld

7. sweet i checked out that site and i picked out an 8gb upgrade, they had an item finder where i just put in the model of my mac and it shows everything thats compatible...im stoked gonna be running soooo much faster with 12gb RAM, hahaha fuckin apple was gonna charge almost $150 for that much, crucial only costs $60

you sir get some rep from me :)

8. glad i could help