Updates on my reef

Discussion in 'General' started by Budder81, Feb 8, 2008.

1. Been busy with work and my reef tank. Still smoking the dank though :)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. The cleaner shrimp jumps on my hand and tries to clean particles off my hand. Dopest shrimp ever.

3. When I looked at that picture I was like "That is some fucking crazy ass looking weed... I need to smoke that." Turns out, you didn't mean weed. :D

4. Lol, it would look like some crazy weed though.

I love getting high and planting my ass in front of the tank and watch the millions of tiny life forms crawling around. I am finding feather dusters and tube worms on my live rock.

5. The mushrooms in my tank seem to be reproducing, love their bright green color too.

6. awsome reef dude, how dd you get started in all of this?

7. I've been keeping freshwater fish for about 10 years (same time I started smoking bud). Always wanted to do saltwater, but knew it was costly and needed much care and time.
    I'm making enough money, have enough wisdom, and have enough time to spend on it. Plus, it is very rewarding to have a reef tank. Just with the rock in it I'm all estatic. And I don't even have coral yet (except the mushrooms).

8. but how did you get the reef in the first place

9. I bought the tank, filled it with DISTILLED water (important that you don't use sink water, algae!) and mixed with salt to 1.025. Bought some live sand and live rock (filled with organisms like zooplankton) and let it sit for a few weeks to let all the nitrates, nitrites, phosphates, and ammonia to leave my tank. Once it does, the live rock starts coloring up and life forms start growing where it was once dormant (not dead). Corals are bought at the store or can be ordered online, but I like hand picking all my stuff, so I need to see it before I buy.

10. awsome dude, thanks for giving me a little bit of a run down,
    im gonna start a reef this weekend