unfinished jerry garcia sketch..

Discussion in 'The Artist's Corner' started by legalizebud89, Jan 25, 2006.

1. unfinished sketch of the one and only..
    [​IMG]

• Like Like x 1
  2. s,not bad, some of the features are a little warped it seems though

3. Yeah feel free to tell me ANYTHING i should do to imrpove it as IM no pro at drawing whatsoever,,,

4. if you say you dont draw much you do well for just starting.

i can see you had trouble with proportion on the eyes:

a little trick i do is start with the eye on the left (right eye actually) if youre right handed, that way when you go to draw the eye on the other side you wont have your hand blocking the other eye while you draw.i just say this because its easier to keep them the same size if you can see the other eye while you draw the second one.

another idea ...considering the techniques you use to draw would be...

making sure that you never OUTLINE your drawings, what i mean by this for example:

say you look in the mirror at your lips, you dont see a dark outline of your lips around your mouth do you...nope...so what you wanna do is draw the flesh part of the top lip by very very lightly outlining the shape of it, then fill it in so that it is only 1 shade,

after you have that done what you want to do now is shadow the top of the lip (which is replacing outlining) without drawing on the lip itself...its simple just look at your picture..the thin shade that youre putting along the top of your lip is going to add dimension..after youve done the top lip do the bottom lip starting at the bottom of that lip.

now where your lips touch together when you close them will have to have a thin more precise shade

sometimes you only have the bottom lip showing in a drawing like yours

that long stoner info was just letting you know that outlining is almost always bad,sometimes its necessary but meh...