Understanding takes responsibility.

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by Awaken.Now, Jan 28, 2010.

1. I see a lot of posters come here and shove their non-religious ideas upon religious posters. The religious zealots of today who shout their radical ideas of judgment on street corners are no worse than you speaking how you do on these forums. You must see the hypocrisy in your words.

I ask that people respect each other's awareness of truths and beliefs uncommon to them. Those of you who have gained a clearer view of the world know that the journey to true awareness is long and always evident. Do express your beliefs but do so in a way that assists your audience to seeing the truth in your words not blatantly rejecting their point of view.

2. Well, I'm pretty new to the spirituality/philosophy section here on gc, but most of what I've seen so far seems reasonably civil to me given the nature of the discussions. Speaking for myself, I have written one deeply sarcastic post in order to paint a picture of the progress (or non-progress) of irrationality as it unfolds. Asserting an opinion, and backing it up with example, that a belief is blatantly irrational is not hypocrisy.

It's your right to ask that others respect beliefs they don't agree with, but don't be surprised if your request is denied. One can still respect a person without respecting her/his beliefs, which makes for a substantive civil discussion that others are free to contribute to, or not. Regardless tho - I'm only assuming everyone here has previously learned, at some point in their lives, that going deep is not for the faint-hearted.

And besides, why would you to attempt to gag open, free discussion, on a public forum? I imagine most people are mature enough to take care of themselves, and if they can't, then there is always another thread for discussion more to their liking.

3. Responsibility takes understanding. :)

4. Unfortunately, OP, everyone gets tough in front of a keyboard.