UCRDWC(anytips?) or Coco Coir w/drip

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by SWGrower5369, Oct 12, 2019.

1. I am a farmer, yet have never grown cannabis and am having trouble choosing a growing medium and style.
    I think I have narrowed it down to ]either a UCRDWC(anytips?) or Coco Coir w/drip.
    I don't mind maintenance or work, yet I am a Newbie an the system may have to go a few days unattended from time to time.

I'm a knowledge fiend, so any tips from experienced growers are welcomed.

• Like Like x 2
  2. Coco would be the easiest, and less expensive because less equipment is required. A bucket and some coco.
    Good luck and welcome to GC. :)

• Like Like x 3
  3. hey @SWGrower5369 welcome to the city.
    idk about that

I recommend checking out Ronald Kleinman

• Like Like x 1
  4. Coco doesn't require an air pump, air lines, airstones, and you don't have to worry about root rot if the temps are too high.
    Different strokes. :)

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Water can be the simplest grow medium.

I'm a big fan of larger, multiple plant Deep Water Culture systems hooked up to an external storage reservoir.
    A multiple plant reservoir mimics re-circulation without needing pumps or hoses, because all the plants always get the same nutrient solution.
    Top feed plus air stone provides great aeration and keeps the system well mixed.

An external storage reservoir with float valve can allow the system to be left unattended for several days:
    GH Controller Complete

I started off with this sysem, which I still love, but needed less height and more spread out plants:
    EcoGrower Drip Hydroponic System
    I add air stones, but that's not really necessary.

Current Culture sells some of the multiple plant reservoirs, and I've used this:
    https://cch2o.com/products/hydroponic-systems/ucsolopro4/

DIY versions aren't too difficult using something like this:
    Active Aqua Reservoir Kit, 20 gal – Horticulture Source