Trying not to trim or tip, but is this a time to do it?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Shtubba, Jul 1, 2012.

1. First grow. Indica bagseed. 30th day of veg. I've read up on the trim/don't trim debate and have not done so yet. I have 2 plants, both vertically challenged (only 8" each) but quite bushy with big, never-ending fan leaves. Plant 1, I've been able to just fold and the undergrowth has risen up nicely. Plant 2, however, the stems just aren't long enough to fold sufficiently. I'm wondering if I should trim or at least tip the fan leaves to allow the undergrowth a chance? The leaves are so big that the ones from the first 3 nodes are just about laying in the soil.

I planned on flipping to flower tomorrow and it's my understanding that it would be better to trim/tip before flower, correct?

So, trim, tip or leave her be?
    Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Im no expert but i have heard you want to trim all places not receiving direct light in flower so you dont have a bunch of little popcorn nugs. Thats what i did at least working pretty good so far but like i said by no means an expert.

3. I would say it to early to flower them ... cant really see how tall it is ....
    Would like to see it a bit bigger... my plants are still small but they seem to be turning out like yours .... Is that a pure indica ?

4. It's bagseed from what I was told was an Indica dominant strain. Great couchlock. There's no doubt it's heavy on the Indica, but pure, don't know.
    I think you are right, and I'll let them veg at least a couple of more days. They're only 8 inches, but have gained 2 the last 2 days. I think they were getting too much light (4x23w 6500k per plant) plus 2x23w 5000k for side growth. I've moved the bulbs from 2 inches to 4 inches away, and they're getting taller finally. I don't want very big plants (2 feet max) so maybe I'll let them get to a foot before I switch. I've topped them just once.