Trapped in a prison of your own design

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by yurigadaisukida, Jun 14, 2015.

1. Anyone ever get the feeling you've constructed a prison for yourself? And each day it get harder to escape? And you know if you don't escape soon, you'll be stuck there forever. But its so comfortable...

-yuri

Meh, you're a genius so you should be able to work your way out of it! :laughing:

On a serious note, yes it does happen. I had a big problem with depression not long ago and it felt like I was pretty much trapped, but then I started learning the things I did only helped perpetuate the unhappiness. But contrary to how you feel, it wasn't a comfortable prison.

3. Self - imposed prison is horrible and life-denying. The part that sucks us that it is usually constructed unconsciously.. we don't realize it until it is already up and fortified.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

4. All the time!

Every few years I look back and modify my behavior a bit.

5. That's exactly what I keep telling myself about living in my hometown. I feel liek its rlly hard to leave, like a prison, and the longer I stay the harder it becomes. But I have to leave asap to not end up like those pathetic neighborhood guys who hang out on the same corner year after year. but fuck it's difficult starting over with no contacts

6. I was mentally locked up for about 11 years I was a hard worker fucker. I would often go two or three days of non stop working. The one major thing I had going for me was I was bipolar and be in manic state for weeks I never drove if I was tired though. Well all this hard work ended up being for nothing I thought because I got sick and I was forced to retire at 38. It took me almost a year later to realize I was finally free I went from a nice six figure income to okay five figure income I had a little bit of money left but I had a gambling problem and lost a ton of dough. We are doing great now. I love being free.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk