Transplant question

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by oldfogey, Jan 24, 2013.

1. i made the mistake of germinating 5 seeds in one 10" pot. i had bad luck germinating in paper towel and didn't count on my luck improving. but it did. all 5 germinated and are now growing(well, 1 is kinda looking sickly). 3 of the 5 have their 1st set of leaves. 1 just has the cotyledon. i'd like to transplant them to smaller pots but i don't want to kill them if it is too early to transplant. i know i pulled a stupid. feel free to berate me. but please give me some feedback as well.

thanks...

2. Im not an expert. I just want to put in my 2 cents.... I would transplant.... I would scoop the plant out as to not disturb the rooting.

3. i would wait until they are bigger.....u can easily loose ur seedling

4. It is actually probably about the perfect time to fix this mistake so don't despair. If you wait much longer the roots will tangle around one another and you could do a lot of damage to the plant. Start with the sickly one (as the guinea pig) and use a small knife, a butterknife will do, and cut a small square around the plant where you think think is beyond the root system. Have a larger container with new soil ready and a small hole cleared/dug ready in the new soil to drop the plant into. Then gently, and I mean gently, pry and work the plant/square that you cut out of the original pot. Try to get down at least 5 inches or so if you can.

Then just put into the new pot, adjust to the height you want in new pot, and add some soil, water it generously, but don't flood it. If you are happy with how it turned out, repeat for the others. These plants, and most plants in general are pretty resilient and do well with transplanting at earlier stages. There are probably a number of other ways to do this, but this is just one.