Training and leaf tucking

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by SativaSlayer, Jun 4, 2019.

1. #1 SativaSlayer, Jun 4, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
    Good day all. I have been getting into training and what I like to call leaf tucking.

Training all my plants from now on, I have hundreds of feet of stretch ties and I'm not afraid to use it!

I started this training half way though vegging. It helped make up for what experiments I conducted on the fan leafs and lots of branches popped up. What happened is I trimmed a few sets of fans off. My vegging light is limited as its a 100w led. Therefore I attempted to provide more light to lower nodes. For the nodes that I trimmed the fans on it stunted those branches growth. They came to a all together halt until I started training. The lower nodes that got more light and had the two main large fans grew into larger branches. Lessons learned ^^

First off please remember to only train on plants that are hydrated enough. You could snap branches during its dryer periods so train when there's no wilting present. I still have multiple bends that's happened in the branch when I trained her sideways. Believe it or not once you establish a tension on a plants limb it's fighting to go back to its original position even weeks after being bent over. Untied branches will reach for the sky so it's not an option to move ties around. Once she is tied keep her tied. Sometimes adjusting further down the branch as she grows. Hardest part is keeping a even canopy. You bend branches into empty areas until they are filled. The growth is unreal so get ready to go into flower once you think you won't have anymore room for them.

Now for leaf tucking, simply push a fan leaf under other leafs to expose nodes to the light. They are very flexible and don't often snap so bend them out of the way and lock them up with another fan or fans branch. This will reduce stress compared to cutting and encourage new development.