Total Noob Striking Out

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by SoulDread, Oct 6, 2012.

1. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I'm only growing one plant as a trial run to get my skill down pact before I invest more so I don't screw up.

My baby isn't looking too good. It's been growing for about 2 1/2 weeks. I took it outside once and it suddenly rained and the stem bent over (weak stem bc of incandescent light stretching). So I repotted the plant just below the coteyledon (sp.?), got 2x daylight CFLs @ 20W and 1190 Lumens each. I have the lights about 2-3 inches away. Temp is about 70F. Using a blend of Espoma's seed starter (75-85% sphagnum peat moss, peat humus, perlite, and dolomitic limestone with a bunch of microbes), I also potted with worm castings, and sprayed with a blend of Soil Mender's liquid Fish and Kelp Fertilizer.Now my baby's coteyledon have died and barely hanging on, the first leaves (from the bottom) turned yellow last night and this morning they are now turning brown. I'm thinking about cutting them off so the plant can use more energy to make more leaves instead of healing itself. I might've over watered, but I'm not sure. I watered until water came out of bottom , just like I do my basil and aloe vera plant, which are growing beautifully.

Oh yeh...the growth seems to stunted as far as height goes, but I've got new leaves coming in, with 3 sections instead of the typical 7 section leaf. I just really hope whatever is wrong doesn't spread. My readings say Nitrogen def., but with the fertilizer and worm castings I didn't think that was so. Any suggestions?

**Disclaimer** The attached images may or may not be mine. And they may or may not be what you think they are. Nahmean son?

Attached Files:

2. 1) do not remove the yellow leaves. Your plant is sucking nutrients from those leaves in order to continue with new growth. Your plant isn't expending energy to keep them alive, they are giving energy to keep the plant alive.