1. Win a $250 shopping spree at Grasscity.com! To enter subscribe to our youtube channel.
    Dismiss Notice

Total Beginner

Discussion in 'Absolute Beginners' started by Quickbeam, Jun 2, 2004.

1. Well, I know you guys get a crap-load of guys coming in and asking you to do their thinking for you about growing, but its always better to ask and not screw up =)

I was thinking about starting a little indoor closet setup with some bagseed, since it is my first time. I have an empty closet in my house, I have about half of it I could use, like 3.5' x 2' x 5.5' chunk of space, (I could make it smaller to make the light work harder) and I was trying to spend as little money as possible, and was looking into those compact spiral fluorescent bulbs, like this, http://www.1000bulbs.com/product.php?product=6699 and had a few questions. First I was only thinking of growing 1 plant, how many of these do you think I would need to grow some decent bud (you know, just bottom of the line stuff that simply works). Also, what would I be looking for as far as fixtures go? I saw some really cheap "mogul base," I think they are called, fixtures at the hardware store, would those be fine? I can get my Dad to help me with the wiring, thats no big deal, what should I be looking for, if I don't want to spend a lotta cash?

I could get one of those little timer things for pretty cheap, so that wouldn't be a big deal, since it is only one plant, do I really need to worry about ventilation? How about smell, although it could probably smell pretty strongly and still be safe, how bad will it smell?

2. I use the compact flourescents too. You can use as many as you want, the more the better... a minimum is probably 2 to be on the safe side. Buying a mylar saftey blanket for $2 is well worth it since it reflects light so well.