Total beginner. All tips welcome

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by EdgarNigma, Dec 11, 2014.

1. Hello, friends!
    I'm an aspiring mj farmer getting his roots in a spare bedroom.
    5 years ago I started three seeds with only a book from the 70s. Two died and one was consumed by a kitty cat. All before they were 6"

I've recently received what was called a $30 feminized seed and no other description. This terrifies me because I'll be going in totally blind as to indica sativa or hybrid, but it was a freebie nonetheless.

So here we are. I started the beaut in a wet paper towel and baggy a week ago and three day ago planted it into some generic starting mix and a peat pot I had on hand. Its about 1.5" tall and starting to show its cotelydons. Very pleased I started my fluoros at 24/7 for the next 7 days.

This is the farthest I've come with the intent to follow through. I've been sponging up as much info as I can these last two weeks hoping for an arm sized bud to show off. 😉

My set up is very slim and almost all of it is going to be improvised and reused equipment from a farm. The only expense I'm considering is a MH and CFL light/ballast/timer set up that seems excellently priced.

Super unsure of whether I want to just solo plant and crop it out over the next few months or try to start some clones and straight up SOG it.

I'm unsure if this is even the right page for I am newer to forums than I am to pot.

Any suggestions welcome!

2. Sounds good so far! I would go with the MH bulbs! Brighter and keeps the room at a better temp. Grow this guy out and then you can clone the plant if its a true Femie plant. It will be way quicker then starting from seed and you already know the genetics! Cheers! 

3. MH and CFL ballast?

Do you mean MH and HPS? An HID setup? If so, good choice on lighting source. LEDs have their advantages, too, but CFLs...basically for a few small plants done in 3-4 months max from seedling to flowering a stealth grow.