Torch?

Discussion in 'Concentrate Tools' started by BearThug, Oct 17, 2012.

1. Is there a difference between the butane torches? I mean, there are some name brand ones that LHS sell and are $65+, while I go to lowes and see virtually the same thing just not as cool looking, but its only $40? Is there any difference?

2. Vector torches come with a lifetime warranty, they break, you get a free new one. Other than that I have no personal experience with the lows torches but if you're spending 40+ on a torch it will probably not give you any issues. Just don't get a propane torch, they emit noxious fumes and burn far to hot for dabbing applications.

3. yes, there is a big difference, i have a nitro and a bernz-o-matoc torch from the hardware store. for starters you need a butane torch, propane has harmful stuff in it that you dont want to be possibly inhaling, and also propane will cause titanium to oxidize fairly quickly. most cheap torches at the hardware store are propane. the butane torches you will find at the hardware store are A LOT less powerful and usually considerably smaller then a vector nitro (which is more then likely what you saw in the LHS)
    my nitro heats my 14mm titanium nail in 13 seconds, the cheap hardware store butane torch takes about a full minute. my buddy was using a cooking torch before we got the nitros, and that took around a minute as well, and was mostly made or plastic which melted after a few weeks, he had a second one and that melted as well.

i would just bite the bullet and get the vector nitro, they are just made alot better then most other torches out there. if you get a cheap one and it melts, or you drop it and it breaks cause its mostly plastic, then you have to replace it and spend more then the nitro. the nitro is mostly metal and can take plenty of drops and rough use, and has a lifetime warranty if it ever breaks.

4. So you would recommend the Vector Nitro over the rest of them?

5. Bed bath and beyond, super cheap.