To the lifters out there... constant tension or full range of motion?

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by Incommision, Feb 7, 2014.

1. So by all means I'm not an expert on this, in fact I'd still consider myself a beginner with only a year of inconsistent training... however I've been going consistently for two months now and I recently renewed my membership for a year so I'm thinking things are going well.

However, besides that I have question for all of you and I'm thinking for hardcore lifters it's going to be one sided. I recently fell into the fad of ''constant tension'' where you simply don't use the full range of motion and instead use somewhat of a half range and basically don't stop the motion. So for example I was working chest today and I actually fucked my shoulder up a couple years ago in soccer so it's more difficult for me to use the full range of motion and I found that it's easier for me overall. But, this huge guy came over to me and this is the first time I've ever gotten ''gym advice'' but he was REALLY nice about it but this is basically what he said:

It's absolutely fine to NOT use full range of motion, however when you may be putting up three plates on each side with the bench press using ''constant tension'' it's going to be hard as fuck if you ever decided to try it using full range of motion, he's been going to the gym for 20+ years and this is a fairly big guy so I decided to give full range of motion a try despite the shoulder, for now I can't put up as much weight as I could using ''constant tension'' however after my workout I had the biggest pump on my chest I've ever seen so despite me having to use less weight, so for now I'll definitely stick with full range of motion.

Your thoughts? Also, I may start a log on here tracking workouts/eating habits/etc...

2. Form over weight bro..