This is tha absolute beginner section after all

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by THCeeds, Oct 11, 2010.

1. So how do i check tha ppm and my nutrients and stuff? i cant seem to find a guide online i dont even know what instrument to use or what ppm stand for or anything.... can i get some help blades? :)

2. ppm = parts per million - also known as Milligrams per Liter (mg/L)

This is a concentration of stuff in other stuff.
    Here we tend to worry about the concentration of nutrients in water.

If you have 5 grams of 20% Nitrogen in 4 liters of water you have

5 X .2 / 4 = 250 mg/L of Nitrogen (or 250 ppm)

This is most important for hydroponics as the solution is not a mix and forget type thing.
    As the solution is used the ppm can vary as the nutrients are used and make-up water is added.

For container watering - there will be an eventual build up of "salts" (which can be nutrients, chlorine, calcium, etc) and this build up can get to toxic levels. So measuring the run-off can let you know when it is time to flush.

That help?

3. so if im just using soil i dont really have to worry about ppm? or just not as much??

4. If you are growing in pots and you promise to flush once a month with 3X pot size of clean water - then you dont need a PPM meter.

You might want a pH meter though .. as it is the most important thing you can monitor in a container grow.

If you mix your nutrients according to the directions you should be good but having water that is too acid or base can lock those nutrients out and the plant will not be happy.

5. okay thanks and by flushing once a month with 3x water that means just one day out of tha month give it 15 gallons of water if its in a 5 gallon bucket?? little confussed about that part lol

thanks for all tha help so far tho :smoke: