thinking about giving it all up...

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by flashlight, Mar 11, 2011.

1. i just turned 26. i have a great job that pays a lot. i bought my dream car 2 years ago. im single.

sounds pretty good...

Im just not happy doing what im doing or livin where im living. I am about 98% sure I am going to sell my car, cash in and backpack the world. One of my best friends left last June in the same fashion and has never looked back. Every day that goes by I question why I am not doing the same thing. Im young, single, have the money and time to see the world or atleast agood amount of it. Why not? Bc society says I should work my ass off every day, saving for a house and kids and car and retirement lol...screw that.

Anyway, I will be deciding in the next 2 weeks and going from there. Its a big decision. I would leave myself about 10k to come home to so Im not totally broke at the end of it, and also I have a lot of experience and a great resume right now so i could get back into business if i still wanted to when i returned..

What do you think? Would you, or have you, given it all up to go travel the world? What is life if you dont enjoy it? I also think this trip would change my life for the better, forever.

2. given your conditions, i say its a no-brainer-especially seeing the way you feel...id say do it man

3. Hey, if you're needlessly skipping through an existence you haven't appreciated since you were 15, then why do you think it's all going to get better by going on some crazy trip and getting into all sorts of debt?

Nobody wants to tell you how to live your life, your ideas are not acceptable nor wise at the relatively young age of 26, seek therapy.

4. well really i have felt this way for about 2 years. who said anything about debt? i have enough to go for 1.5 yrs and have 10k saved for when i return.