Things you wish you knew as a noob?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by BigD1128, Nov 6, 2016.

1. As a total noob there are things I learned from my own mistakes that I wish I knew earlier on. I hope some people with experience will chime in here to help out other beginners.

The first thing I wish I knew was how slow things will be the first 2-3 weeks. I expected explosive growth immediately. Not realizing that most of the growth was going on underground. After the roots established the growth above soil was insane.

• Like Like x 5
  2. It is not easy to keep water and room temps low in warm areas of the country

• Like Like x 3
  3. That I didn't have to buy tons of supplements to start out with. I ended up wasting a lot of money trying to get things perfect from the get-go, instead of starting off slowly and adding as I grew.

• Like Like x 3
    • Like Like x 4
  4. I agree 100%

5. keep it simple.

6. I too bought way to much shit I do not need but one day I hope to grow to need it lol

7. I started out with building grow boxes out of wood, this was way before the days where tents came along. I designed my boxes with 4ft of height so I was able to use the top as a work surface. That dam 4' height gave me so much arse ache, training the plants to keep them small was so much work. U used those boxes for many years and if I knew how important height is it would have given me tons more bud.

Also when going from CFLs to HPS was one hell of an eye opener . Not just the huge difference in yield per watt, but loads less work too

And I wish I tried hydro earlier . I had the impression that hydro is harder than soil but it's actually much easier

8. I too wish I knew that the difficulty of hydro was over rated sooner! For me at least hydro is so much easier than even my easiest soil grow and the yields...damn the yields are so so much more!

• Like Like x 1