The Systems 8 Strain Grow - First time using T5 in veg(Updated: 1/29/2014)

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by TSoaDK, Jan 13, 2014.

1. #1 TSoaDK, Jan 13, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 29, 2014
    Well my background is I used to take care of a house as well as a caregivers basement which numbered 72.
    In total we had fifteen 1,000 watt lights going and we had a nice set up.

Now I am my own caregiver allowed to grow mine and a legit patients stuff. I am allowed 24 plants, so I started with 16 and when I move them to flower I will be taking only 8 clones (1 per each strain) and when I figure out the plants I like I will determine which ones to keep.

I am wanting something a lot less work, looking for a larger crop my first one and then a smaller amount on perpetual from there on out. I got my seeds, have them planted.

Veg:
    I am running a T5 8-bulb VHO. It can run 4 bulbs or 8 bulbs, each bulb running at 96 watts and 8,000 lumens (so the box says). I used to run MH bulbs in a big room last time, but didn't want to have to set up dual exhausts and temperature control in two different rooms. I am going for the energy saver option here and with the first week I am pretty happy they seem to be doing well.

Flower:
    Now at first I know I need 4 lights, and eventually I will need 3. So I went with the option of trying hydro farms 6 foot track light system (the chain driven system) that I got super cheap on ebay. There is only a 20 lb. limit on these smaller systems (you can get more advanced ones) but I will explain that decision later. I heard a lot of bad things about these, but I also heard a lot of good. I hooked them up to my hoods and they ran perfectly.