The "Stoner" Stereotype

Discussion in 'General' started by MatchboxKing, Jul 11, 2009.

1. So, maybe this is an old topic for the counter-culture, but I just want to see how people feel. Is anybody else sick of the stoner stereotype? The lazy, stupid, unmotivated nobody who never goes anywhere and never will?
    I smoke pot daily (When I have it). I am a second-year University student in a respectable program, I work hard five days a week, I'm a prolific writer who recently had a poem published in American Atheist Magazine. I'm going places, and pot isn't stopping me; in fact, it's helped me more than any other habit I've developed.

Discuss?

2. I don't care one way or the other.

If anyone judges you negatively without knowing you just for smoking weed, then fuck them anyway.

3. True say, however, what about service industry employees, or any other person that you're forced to deal with? Or an apartment landlord who kicks you out because of it? Or parents who disown you for it? Or bosses who fire you for it? It's a little hard to just say "Fuck them".

4. Defenitly I would have to agree on this one bro

5. Then you need to know where to draw the line with pot.

If it's going to cause THAT much trouble, is it worth it? Not to me.

I'm fortunate enough to not have worry about that sort of shit right now.

If I had to choose between a good job with random piss tests and getting stoned all the time, I know which one I'd choose.

6. I agree with you, its annoying. I am also responsible and achieving my goals all while smoking weed. I don't fit the stoner stereotype look at all though. Most people think I am a nice, young christian boy (i look 17 but am in fact 21). Whatever, as more people who smoke weed succeed (rhymage!) marijuana will be less taboo.

7. I'd fit into the stoner stereotype perfectly. But the thing is, I don't smoke that often and people can usually tell from my appearance, but not from anything else. ;)

8. I'm a lazy pot smoker.