The Stigma of Marijuana

Discussion in 'General' started by ybt_sun, Jul 2, 2013.

1. #1 ybt_sun, Jul 2, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 2, 2013
    Hey blades, just want to discuss something that I've been thinking for a while.

As many of you know, marijuana usage is oppressed, discouraged by society. But why? Its medical advantages for individuals with cancer, diabetes, anxiety, and pain are evidence of its benefits. The potential to vaporize or digest the herb provide a non-smoking consumption alternative. With all the positives, why the oppression?

I think a huge source of social aversion to marijuana is the "stoner" stereotype. Your typical parents don't dream of their children growing up to smoke weed, for fear that they grow up with no ambitions in life. "With weed you screw your chances of college. Weed makes you stupid and lazy."

On the contrary, I have had extensive experience with several people who maintain healthy relationships and successful careers despite recreational use of the herb. Used wisely, weed can be a beneficial compliment to any lifestyle. Work out and eat healthy to counter toxin consumptions. Use the herb at night/weekends/vacations so it doesn't distract from your responsibilities. Use it to make a good night better, don't depend on it to make a bad night good. So on and so forth, whatever works for you.

Basically, it should be compared to alcohol, not hard drugs like cocaine or ecstacy. All you need is wisdom and respect for responsibility. You get addicted to hard drugs, but with weed, addiction is nowhere near as intense. But society is convinced that weed is an evil, hard drug.

Thoughts on this? Is society right? Wrong? Would love to hear your thoughts on this.

I just dream of the day that society understands the true facts about marijuana. But who wants to, other than the users themselves?

2. Short answer : lobbyists.

Long answer : lllloooobbbbbbbbyyyyyiiiiissssstttttssss.