The right/wrong way to seek God?

Discussion in 'Religion, Beliefs and Spirituality' started by YelloMnMs, Nov 29, 2012.

1. Is there a right or wrong way to seek God in your opinion?

My mom has been going to the same church for 22 years now. Christian non denominational. I'm almost 25

I decided that I wanted to study the Bible and get baptised in her church next month.
    I have several reasons for wanting to do so

1. if this was truly our last year on earth and the Rapture should come I want to be on the side of the "good guys"

2. I've been living my life the way I wanted to. it's definitely not a horrible life but I'd like to be happier and in a better place.

3. growing up I was taught that there is a right and wrong way to live. I finally decided that I want to live "right"

so I start studying and basically the people im studying with feel like my reasons are not good enough.

they feel like I should be seeking God because I have a deep longing for him and can't go on without him.they I think my view is too academic.

I'm deeply offended at this notion and have since been turned off of the process...

What do y'all think about that?

2. no, just go looking, he is around

3. god takes the path of least resistance toward compatible tools for expression....

4. so if you experience euphoric freedom of mind you will experience god

5. I was raised in a strict Christian home and rebelled like crazy (this was during the '60s too, which made it worse).

When I turned 30 I bought a bible and started reading it. As time went on I kinda bought into the whole god thing, but never completely. You have to ignore a lot of reality to do so, and my mind just doesn't work like that.

By the time I was in my 40s I got away from it all, and now I don't believe any of the "Big invisible man that lives in the sky and runs everything" concept. (-- George Carlin quote.) The older I get the less I believe it.

HOWEVER --