The Problem of Evil

Discussion in 'Religion, Beliefs and Spirituality' started by Nadine181, Jan 20, 2009.

1. Hi Everyone, i'm currently studying philosophy in college and wanted to throw this essay up for you guys to have a goo at, its about the philosophical reasoning behind evil (the module it is from is philosophy of religion so thats whats with the God theme!) its a good topic to read on when you a bit stoned and i know its mental long so i really don't expect people to read the whole thing! It got me a really good mark so i hope you like it! :wave:

Question: “God either wants to remove evil and cannot, or can and does not want to, or does not want to and cannot, or wants to and can. If he wants to and cannot he is impotent; if he can and does not he is envious; if he does not want to and cannot he is envious and impotent; if he wants to and can, why does evil exist?”
    Answer: John Stott[1] has said that "the fact of suffering undoubtedly constitutes the single greatest challenge to the Christian faith." The question that Epicurus poses has plagued philosophers and theologians through the eras. It is an incredible test to Christians and people of Religion to accept and blindly follow knowing that murders are taking place everyday, the news is a string of events that happen daily that many deem to be evil. Why does an all loving God allow his ‘children' to suffer?
    First I feel it is important to explain the difference between Moral Evil and Natural Evil[2]. Moral evil results from the actions of free creatures. Murder, rape and theft are examples. Natural evil results from natural processes such as earthquakes and floods.