The Bible as Literature

Discussion in 'Religion, Beliefs and Spirituality' started by the color green, Mar 4, 2008.

1. In a composition class I'm in I'm studying the Bible as literature, to help further understand biblical allusions in everyday life. It's a pretty cool project, I'm not complaining, but I think it's cool to look at this summary sheet of the different stories in the bible that are commonly alluded to in this day and age. This packet summarizes the different stories in the bible (David, Samson, the Miracles, Crucifixion, Genesis, etc.) and it really just further solidifies my current belief that religion should be questioned. Some of the stories are so far-fetched I almost laugh out loud during class and wonder if anyone in the room actually believes some of this hooie.

Also, I'm not very educated on the bible in depth, and I'd like anyone who is to help me out with a personal question. When did God stop taking an active role in humans lives? In the Old Testament God actually communicates with people and makes very decisive actions on Earth. Adam and Eve, Noah, and all those characters all spoke to God. God fucks up all of Job's shit in Job (which is a fucking dick move, all because some dare from Satan? Apparently not even God is above Satan's temptation. Why did God have to fucking test Job's fatih, Job hadn't done anything wrong and his crops get fucked up, his family gets killed and shit... Fucking weird) When did God decide to just leave us alone and let us fuck up by ourselves without really taking an active role in human life?

:) tcg

2. If you look closely to the book of Job, I do believe God is the one who dares the evil one to test Job.