thcJoes's First *Newb* Soil Grow (Teach me Yoda's!)

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by thcJoe, Mar 11, 2012.

1. This is my first time for everything here guys, don't be gentle and feel free to shout dumbass newb when needed, I wont take offense.

So I'll start at the top. I have no background experience aside from dropping some seeds in the soil and letting nature do its thing. Any help you guys can give me I'll greatly appreciate. I'm not gonna b.s. anyone here I killed my first 5 seeds and this is my second attempt. I'm using bag seed and 1 of my freebies "Black Russian" The Black Russian is 6 days old, my bag seeds are 4 days old. I'm not touching my good strains until I nail down these bag seeds lol.

I'm germinating with the papertowl/cheesecloth method and distilled water with a P.H. of 6.7. Once the root starts forming I take my 1.5" rockwool cubes and soak them nute free in my distilled water for a few moments, then carefully place my germinated seed root facing down into the rockwool. Now I've tried gently pinching the small hole shut on some of them to try and keep the root in darkness but I'm not sure if I should be doing this, some of them I have seemed to kill doing this so I stopped doing it for the second grow, which now worries me because I can look down in the center and see the root. I put them back in darkness and check on them daily looking for the stem to pop out.