~Teach me more about Bongs~

Discussion in 'Smoking Accessories Q&A' started by George W KUSH., Sep 15, 2009.

1. Hey GC, last night I ripped a bong for the first time ever-Keep in mind i've been smoking for about a 2 years...

First off...I LOVED IT!

It was an awesome high and its a pretty great experience too...

A few questions I have about bongs that I know you guys will know.

#1: what's a percolator? what does it or they do and why are they good/bad?

#2: what does "milk" or "milkshot" mean?

#3: I've see people using those things like a heat element almost to burn the bud in the bowl without actually using a lighter...are those good, or bad? and if they're good where would I be able to get one?

#4: When i took my first hit it wasn't so bad, but when i was on my fourth or fifth hit, my throat had a really weird pain that I never had before...has anyone ever had this? and if so, is there anyway to prevent this?

#5: Ice bongs...What are they? do you actually put ice in the bong? what purpose do they serve? are they good?

I also am looking in purchasing a bong from a head shop somewhere...Willing to spend anywhere within the range of about $250. So if you can, direct me to a nice bong that would fit me.

Thanks so much GC you're always a great help.
    Really appreciate it!

2. #2 TheHerbHunt, Sep 15, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2009
    A percolator on a bong or perc. breaks up the smoke so that the bong hits easier and isnt to harsh on the lungs.

An ice catcher or ice bong does exactly what it's name implies, it holds ice so the hits are smoother. this usually is prongs in the tube part of the bong.

milking a bong is basically torching the bowl, or holding the flame to the bowl until its done. The smoke will be very thick and look like milk.

You dont need a heating element thats mostly for weed snobs who think that the fire ruins the taste of their bud